

Prescription Monitoring Program Advisory Committee

June 1, 2023 9:00 a.m. Texas State Board of Pharmacy via Zoom

MINUTES

I. Call to order

Presiding Officer C.M. Schade, M.D., Ph.D., called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m. The following Committee Members were present via videoconference:

- Michael Arambula, M.D., Pharm.D.
- Nora Belcher
- Raj Chhadua, R.Ph., Pharm.D.
- Mark Duvernois, D.D.S.
- Troy Fiesinger, M.D., F.A.A.F.P.
- A.J. Kirk, M.D., F.F./E.M.T., F.A.A.E.M., F.A.C.E.P.
- Robert Hutchison Jr., R.Ph., Pharm.D.
- Doug Read, R.Ph., Pharm.D.

TSBP Board President Julie Spier, R.Ph. was present via videoconference. TSBP staff present via videoconference were Megan Holloway, General Counsel; Eamon Briggs, Deputy General Counsel; Linda Yazdanshenas, Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) Manager; Prem Gautam, Epidemiologist; and Lily Moreno, Executive Assistant.

II. Announcements

Committee Statutory Directive

Dr. Schade reviewed the statutory directive of the committee as provided in §481.0767 of the Texas Controlled Substances Act

Request Letters for Committee Member Nominations

Ms. Holloway explained that §481.0767 specifies that committee members are appointed to serve three-year terms and continue to serve until a new member is appointed. Ms. Holloway explained that the Board appoints the committee members, and that Board staff would be reaching out to associations requesting nominations. She reviewed the associations that Board staff would be contacting.

TSBP PMP Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes / June 1, 2023 Page 2

Dr. Schade reviewed the statute requirements for members of the advisory committee and called for recommendations for additional associations to represent the required practice settings.

III. Review of minutes

- Dr. Schade called for approval of the minutes from the December 1, 2022, meeting.
- Dr. Arambula made a motion to approve the minutes. The motion was seconded by
- Dr. Hutchinson and approved by all Committee Members.

IV. Election of Presiding Officer for Term

Dr. Schade called for nominations for the presiding officer. Ms. Holloway explained that if the person elected does not continue as a member of the committee with the new appointments, a new election will be held. Dr. Chhadua made a motion to nominate Dr. Schade. The motion was seconded by Ms. Belcher and approved by all Committee Members.

V. Presentation by Bamboo Health

Jacob Cooper, Haley Alder, Joe Carhart, Ph.D., and Austin Lehman of Bamboo Health presented information regarding Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) metrics, including key performance indicators and other metrics by drug type. Bamboo Health also presented information regarding the Narxcare overdose risk score (v2).

<u>Presiding Officer Dr. Schade recessed the meeting at 10:50 a.m.</u> Presiding Officer Dr. Schade reconvened the meeting at 11:06 a.m.

VI. Presentation by UT Center for Health Communication

Dr. Schade recognized Susan Kirtz, MPH, Assistant Director - Programs, UT Center for Health Communication (CHC). She presented background information about the CHC and how they promote the PMP and provided an overview of the 2023 PMP media campaign.

VII. PMP funding update

Ms. Holloway provided an update concerning PMP funding and explained that the budget bill, which provided funding for PMP integration and Narxcare through general revenue, had been sent to the comptroller to be signed. Additionally, she explained that TSBP had received appropriations for two enhancements for the PMP system and for two new full-time PMP positions.

<u>VIII.</u> <u>PMP program update</u>

Ms. Yazdanshenas provided an update on the PMP program for the Committee Members, which included a review of PMP statistics and a review of the pharmacist PMP lookup mandate audit process.

TSBP PMP Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes / June 1, 2023 Page 3

New discussion items to be placed on agenda for next meeting

Dr. Schade called for items to be placed on the agenda for the next meeting. No new items were suggested by the Committee Members.

X. Adjournment

Dr. Hutchinson made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Ms. Holmes-Henry and passed unanimously.

Presiding Officer Dr. Schade adjourned the meeting at 11:46 a.m.

Approved:

AJ Kirk, M.D., FF/EMT, F.A.A.E.M, F.A.C.E.P.

arra

Presiding Officer

Daniel Carroll, Pharm.D., R.Ph. Executive Director/Secretary

December 14, 2023