

Prescription Monitoring Program Advisory Committee

December 14, 2023 9:00 a.m. Texas State Board of Pharmacy via Zoom

MINUTES

I. Call to order and welcome

Megan Holloway, General Counsel, present via videoconference, called the meeting to order at 9:06 a.m. The following Committee Members were present via videoconference:

- Michael Arambula, M.D., Pharm.D.
- Lauren Corrales, R.Ph., Pharm.D.
- Nora Cox
- Carlos Cruz, DDS, OMS
- Mitch Engle, M.D., Ph.D.
- Katharina Hathaway, M.D.
- Cherie Holmes-Henry
- Robert Hutchison Jr., R.Ph., Pharm.D.
- Anna Jessup, DNP, APRN, FNP-C
- A.J. Kirk, M.D., F.F./E.M.T., F.A.A.E.M., F.A.C.E.P.
- Doug Read, R.Ph., Pharm.D.

TSBP staff present via videoconference were Daniel Carroll, Pharm.D., R.Ph., Executive Director; Eamon Briggs, Deputy General Counsel; David Meryman, Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) Manager; Prem Gautam, Epidemiologist; and Lily Moreno, Executive Assistant.

<u>II.</u> <u>Introductions</u>

Ms. Holloway welcomed the new members and initiated introductions. Committee members and TSBP staff introduced themselves.

III. Announcements

Committee Statutory Directive

Ms. Holloway reviewed the statutory directive of the committee as provided in

TSBP PMP Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes / December 14, 2023 Page 2

§481.0767 of the Texas Controlled Substances Act.

IV. Election of Presiding Officer for Term

Ms. Holloway called for nominations for the presiding officer. Dr. Kirk expressed his interest in serving as presiding officer and provided information about his background. Subsequently, Dr. Kirk was nominated, a vote was taken, and he was approved by all Committee Members as presiding officer.

V. Review of minutes

Dr. Kirk called for approval of the minutes from the June 1, 2023, meeting.

Dr. Hutchinson made a motion to approve the minutes. The motion was seconded by

Dr. Read and approved by all Committee Members.

VI. Presentation by Bamboo Health

Sara White and Emily Donohue with Bamboo Health introduced themselves and provided background of the company. They presented information regarding Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) metrics, including key performance indicators and other metrics by drug type.

Following discussion concerning the NarxCare overdose risk score (ORS), Dr. Kirk requested that in future presentation data slides it be indicated where the NarxCare ORS changed from version 1 to version 2. He also asked if it is possible to identify any statistically significant changes in the scoring pattern following the launch of NarxCare ORS version 2. Ms. Donahue offered to share information with the Committee Members concerning the NarxCare ORS version 2 tool from the review at the June 1, 2023, meeting, and from another state-wide meeting held by Bamboo Health, and to also include another review for the Committee Members in the next meeting's presentation, if needed.

VII. Presentation by UT Center for Health Communication

Dr. Kirk recognized Susan Kirtz, MPH, Assistant Director - Programs, UT Center for Health Communication (CHC). Ms. Kirtz presented background information about the CHC and how they promote the PMP, which included an overview of available resources and of the PMP media campaign. Ms. Kirtz also led a discussion concerning feedback on the media campaign.

VIII. Prescription Monitoring Program update

Ms. Holloway recognized Mr. Meryman who provided information about his background with TSBP.

Ms. Holloway provided an update on the PMP program for the Committee Members, which included information about NarxCare and integration implementation and the

TSBP PMP Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes / December 14, 2023 Page 3

addition of advanced analytic and user management tools. Ms. Holloway also reviewed PMP statistics and the pharmacist PMP lookup mandate audit process.

IX. New discussion items to be placed on agenda for next meeting

Dr. Kirk called for items to be placed on the agenda for the next meeting. No new items were suggested by the Committee Members.

X. Adjournment

Dr. Read made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Dr. Hutchison and passed unanimously.

Presiding Officer Dr. Kirk adjourned the meeting at 11:12 a.m.

Approved:

A.F. Kirk, M.D., F.F./E.M.T., F.A.A.E.M., F.A.C.E.P.

Presiding Officer

Daniel Carroll, Pharm.D., R.Ph. Executive Director/Secretary

March 28, 2024